Someone’s got a case of the blahs.

22 Feb

That someone is me.

Source

I’ve been feeling pretty tired all week but I’ve been in pretty good spirits. I haven’t even skipped any planned runs. Well, today the blahs hit me hard. It was a struggle to get myself moving at all. My to-do list did not become a to-done list. Also, I will not confirm or deny that I may have fallen asleep on the couch at 11:00 AM. When I finally got going, I did a 5:00 min lolo Easy Abs workout and then went on my run.

20130222-174206.jpgYeah, that’s right 12:40 PM! Only 4 hours later than intended!

The whole run was a mental struggle to keep going. I had to pull out all of my Jedi mind tricks to not stop at 2 miles and walk back home. Hey, I’m not above bribing myself with treats just to get through a run. It took a lot of bargaining but I made it to 3.5 miles (9:05ish pace). To make up for the lameness, I did a 5:00 min lolo Easy Arms workout and then another round of the Running in Heels Booty Burner Circuit from last week.

Clearly, the problem is psychological. I think I’m just a little bored with my regular runs and in need of something to spice it up. I’m trying to find someone to go on a running date with and looking for some new scenery. I think participating in something like the Under Armour What’s Beautiful challenge and finding other races to sign up for. I’ve been a little frustrated with finding a half marathon to do in the early summer. It’s been hard to find one that’s affordable and doesn’t conflict with other plans.

Ultimately, the bargain I made with myself today was that I’d go to the store and pick up some Designer Whey protein shakes. I’m actually pretty excited about their products after seeing a review by Road Runner Girl Mindy and plan to try one of the shakes after a longer run tomorrow. Target only had the shakes and powder available, so I hope I can find the bars locally somewhere!

20130222-173546.jpg

Now, hubby and I are playing the “What do you want for dinner?/What do you want for dinner?” game. This is my least favorite game ever.

Here’s hoping for a fresh start tomorrow and reaching a goal of 5.5 – 6 miles. Maybe if I tell everyone my goal, I’m more likely to reach it? Accountability, my friends!

3 Responses to “Someone’s got a case of the blahs.”

  1. Laura February 22, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    Oooooh, I’ve so been here and try to tell myself that the blahs just MAYbe a way to right myself, taking a step back from all the to-dos, letting go of the pressure I put on myself other than having a good rest. And, when I feel this way about running *specifically* I’ll try to leave behind my watch and just go for a run purely for fun, not for numbers- seems to give me a nice, good re-set!

    Sending happy thoughts for tomorrow’s 6 miler!!! 🙂

  2. Diana February 23, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    “Miles is miles.” Someone very wise told me that once. Granted, it was someone with atrocious grammar, but we’ll let that slide. 😉 Good for you for at least getting 3.5 in! I hope your blahs go away soon.

Leave a Reply

