Pets, a sleepy run, and other random stuff

21 Feb

Today’s post will be chock full of random goodness. (You’re welcome!)

First, I want to thank everyone who chimed in and supported me on my little rant the other day. I’m glad I didn’t talk myself out of speaking my mind on that topic. In the words of my super awesome husband: if you can’t express yourself on your own blog, where can you? So wise.

Did anyone know yesterday was National Love Your Pet Day? Well, I did not get the memo until I was about 30 seconds away from a long awaited sleep. Even though I’m late I still want to acknowledge my love for my little furballs, Adele and Ellie with a couple of recent instagram photos.

20130221-130844.jpg

Adele LOVES hanging out in the sink.

20130221-130836.jpg

Any time we set a box on the table, Ellie has to be on it.

I had a dream last night that Ellie was eaten by a velociraptor. It was awful. I woke up nearly in tears and had a hard time shaking that image from my mind. I made sure to give her extra snuggles this morning. It’s crazy how attached us humans become to our pets. These kitties are family and we love them sooo much (even if they steal our socks).

Yesterday was a very mentally draining day at work and I left the office feeling sooooo sleepy. I had a 3.5 – 4 mile run planned for the evening and I really didn’t want to skip it. I spent the drive home thinking of a way to sleep while running, but of course couldn’t come up with a workable solution. So I decided I would just go really really easy and stretch and relax in my PJs as soon as I came back.

20130221-110439.jpgI also spent at least 20 minutes trying to get this shot right. Not even exaggerating…

Even my Garmin was sleepy, because it died right around mile 3. It wasn’t connected to the charger properly so it was plugged in all day without any power.

20130221-131652.jpg

By my estimate I ran a little over 3.5 miles and my pace was about 9:45 on average. My calves felt pretty sore afterward. I don’t know why, but slower runs seem to tighten me up more. Am I doing it wrong?

Recently I started to venture into the world of superjuices. Whenever I think about buying these products, I check the label and get anxious about the calorie and sugar content and put them back. But after considering the overall health benefits of juicing, I conceded that they pack a powerful punch and the calories would be worth it. I’ve only tried two options so far, so I really have no feedback other than I think the Naked juice has a better texture. I’ll be investigating this further. 20130221-110454.jpg

And the last random tidbit for today is about FREE LUNCH! One of the perks of working in this field is having pharmaceutical reps come by on the regular to provide education on medications and the like. And they always come with lunch! We haven’t had a free lunch in a while and the husband and I were not so good about getting groceries this week, so this was a welcome surprise.

20130221-131747.jpgThe salad and cookies cancel each other out, right?

3 Responses to “Pets, a sleepy run, and other random stuff”

  1. Running In Heels February 21, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

    Oh my goodness, your cat in the sink.. too adorable!

    • Nikki February 21, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      She’s always in there when we get up in the morning!

  2. Amanda February 22, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    National Love Your Pet Day? Better give my cats extra hugs 🙂 My sister’s cat practically lives in her sink. She loves drinking water out of the tap … and the bathtub. Cats are ridiculous. I love them.

Leave a Reply

