A bit of a rant and a good run

19 Feb

I’ve been contemplating posting about this for a little while and finally decided during last night’s run to just go ahead and say what’s on my mind. It’s just a minor rant, but one I think is relevant.

Like many others, I check out all sorts of blogs and articles related to running to learn as much as I can about this sport that I love – training programs, fuel, healthy eating, cross training workouts, injury prevention, gear, tips, etc., etc., etc. Generally the running community is very welcoming and encouraging. However, once in a while I come across something that’s not so supportive.

Recently, I was checking out some articles on the best gear for winter running and tips for staying warm in freezing temperatures. I initially thought, “Great! I’ll take notes!” But then the tone of said post(s) left me a bit discouraged. It was implied that anyone who buys and uses any running gear from low end brands (such as Target or Kohl’s) is essentially an amateur fool.

Excuuuuuse me?!

I have made it pretty clear that I own several pieces from the C9 by Champion line from Target. A couple I love (like the warm long sleeve half zips) and a couple that are “good enough for now” (such as the bright pink beanie that’s cute but needs to be adjusted constantly to stay on my ears). I purchased these items knowing that they probably wouldn’t last forever or surpass the quality of the other gear that requires a small investment. Paired with a couple of my higher quality pieces, they are working just fine, thank you.

20130116-205212.jpgOne of my 2 Target tops. They’ve kept me warm and dry all winter. Thankyouverymuch.

I would love to be able to afford an $85 long sleeve thermal or $100 subzero tights or $50 gloves from brands I love like Mizuno, Brooks, and Saucony. In fact, items like that are on my ever growing running gear wish list. Unfortunately, I do not get paid to run nor have a sponsorship with an apparel company (maybe someday? no?). I have other financial responsibilities that have to take precedence over a coveted pair of thermal tights with the built-in butt warmers. Oh, I’ll get them. I just might have to wait until next season.

It can be hard enough sometimes to justify registering for a race (those get expensive real fast!). I can’t imagine I am the only one who feels this way or has a similar experience with a modest running budget.

Just because I’ve got a Champion top under my Saucony jacket does not make me any less of a runner or more of a fool than anyone else. 

Ok, end of rant.

If you’ve made it all the way down here, thanks for sticking it out. I’ll reward you by telling you about last night’s run!

One prominent thought came up while I was out on the road: I’m terrible at judging my pace based on feel alone. I felt like I was super slow and must be around 9:30, checked my Garmin – wrong, 8:30 pace. Hmm. Then I felt like I was flying and checked – 9:20 pace. Wrong again. Conclusion: If I’m ever going for a target pace or a tempo run, I need my Garmin firmly attached to my wrist. I’m OK with that, though.

Regardless, this run felt gooood. 

5.1 miles | 45:37 total time | 8:57 avg pace

Questions for anyone:

Are you hitting up the Target clearance rack with me?

How are you at judging your pace without a watch?

13 Responses to “A bit of a rant and a good run”

  1. Amanda February 19, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    Oh hell no! Most of the running apparel I own is from Target, Old Navy or Kohl’s, and I love them! I own a few things from Brooks that were on clearance (shorts, headband, sports bra), but I find the “cheap” options are still very good quality and provide the most bang for my buck.

    I’m really curious about this post. Where can I find it?

    • Amanda February 19, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      And I totally forgot to say how awesome your run was. Oops! 🙂

      • Nikki February 19, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

        I’d rather not call the poster(s) out directly, no need to start an online feud!

      • Amanda February 19, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

        Totally understandable. I wouldn’t likely comment on it, but I wouldn’t mind reading it.

  2. infinebalance February 19, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    I’m in total agreeement. I am anxiously awaiting Target’s openning here in Canada so I don’t have to drive an hour out of my way to get to the nearest US store! What else I really love about Target Champion stuff… it comes in kids sizes! Adorable workout clothes for my daughter that does not break the bank, that i don’t care if she puts a hole in or grows out of too soon. Old Navy has been great for that too. These clothes do the job they were made for… maybe they don’t have all the little extras the big names have but they work. And hey… I’m just sweating in them.

  3. Diana February 19, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    One of my favorite long sleeved running tops is from Target, and I think that all but one of my bras are from there (easy to get away with “cheap” bras when you’re not overly endowed!).

    I also recently discovered that JcPenney has good deals on running apparel, if you’re not picky about brand and don’t mind solid, basic colors.

    If it keeps me warm and dry (or cool and dry, as the case may be), then I’m happy with it. Doesn’t make me any less of a runner just because it didn’t cost me $$$.

    • Nikki February 19, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

      I agree – I actually have some JCPenney running apparel also. I ran my half marathon in capris I bought there and they worked just fine!

  4. dailydoseoflyric February 20, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    I love hitting up sales and almost never buy brand new running gear (even though I wish I could) great run today Nikki and so glad to have come across your blog!

    • Nikki February 20, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. torontorunner February 20, 2013 at 5:38 am #

    AMEN to your rant!! I could care less about brand and certainly don’t have those pricey running gear. I’ll be happy to own a button from lulu one day. ha!

    • Nikki February 20, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

      Yeah, lulu prices make my head spin!

  6. Jenny February 20, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    I only have 3 items that are specifically for winter running, last winter I ran with just whatever I owned! Including cotton! Clothes don’t make you perform better, and as for those who judge others for not owning high end products… Screw them!
    I often don’t judge my pace, I just go by known routes and how long it takes me to run them=D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pets, a sleepy run, and other random stuff | run+breathe+be - February 21, 2013

    […] I want to thank everyone who chimed in and supported me on my little rant the other day. I’m glad I didn’t talk myself out of speaking my mind on that topic. In […]

Leave a Reply

