Birthday fun (part one)

2 Feb

I had a lot of fun celebrating my birthday in various ways yesterday. Birthdays are a wonderful thing because it’s so nice (and necessary) to have a day every year that’s all about you and your fabulousness.

I celebrated myself by starting my 28th year with a solo run.

itsmybirthdayirunSpecial thanks to my friend and fellow runner, Jaimie, for sending me this yesterday!

I joined my friend Dee for a birthday movie date to see Silver Linings Playbook starring Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence (AKA Katniss). This movie intrigued me because it shows the real-life side of someone recovering from mental illness – it’s messy, complicated, scary, hopeful, exciting, and even romantic. The acting was great and I really found myself rooting for Bradley Cooper’s character.

silver linings playbookI also ate about 3/4 of a giant bag of my all-time favorite candy, Swedish Fish, during the movie.

20130202-113823.jpg“It’s my birthday, I do what I want!”

Later in the evening, we had dinner with my family (my mom, stepdad, brother, his fiancee, and her 2 year old daughter). It was nice to see everyone, catch up, talk and laugh. I also enjoyed chocolate peanut butter pie for dessert. (It didn’t last long enough for a picture, whoops!)

Mark’s mom sent over these super cute cupcakes, an itty bitty chocolate cake, and a bottle of wine. These are pretty much the cutest cupcakes ever…

20130202-113829.jpg

After dinner, we met up with my friend Erin for a birthday drink. I had a delicious glass of moscato with a side of conversation and laughter. All in all a great time!

As I’m writing this, I’m really wishing I took more pictures. I’ll keep that in mind for tonight as the celebrations continue!

This morning, I was really slow to get myself going and ready for a run. I had a headache for some reason (no, I was not hungover) and felt sleepy. So I took some ibuprofen, guzzled some nuun, and warmed up with some stretching until my head cleared a little.

I’m really glad I didn’t talk myself out of this run. It turned out to be really fantastic and I feel a lot better having done it. I started around a 9:15-9:30 pace and felt stronger as each mile came on. I actually started saying to myself, “Each mile, I feel stronger and stronger.” And as mile 4 came to an end I was going at an 8:12 pace. Positive affirmations FTW!

salty sneakersWinter running = salty sneakers

4.16 miles | 37:26 total time | 9:00 avg pace

I topped it off with a 5:00 ab workout. Now, I’m trying to decide what to do with myself before getting ready for tonight’s festivities. I think this will do for a little while:

20130202-113843.jpgPost-run recovery snack and reading

5 Responses to “Birthday fun (part one)”

  1. slowgirlfastdog February 2, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Sounds like a perfect birthday weekend so far! Happy birthday to you! 🙂

  2. Running In Heels February 2, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    Happy birthday girl!!

  3. Nikki February 2, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    Thanks ladies!

  4. Amanda February 2, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your birthday so far! I hope it continues to be lovely 🙂

  5. Diana February 3, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    Sounds like you had a great birthday! Nice run, too – I love it when I can end the run faster than I started, always makes me feel good. Not that I’ve EVER had a mile split with an 8 at the beginning, but still. LOL

Leave a Reply

