Adding to the 2013 Race Calendar

31 Jan

Yesterday I signed up for the Kilt Run 5K, which is a fun St. Patty’s themed race where a lot of people wear kilts and other festive clothing and accessories to run to a finish line complete with beer, food, and Irish dancing. I’m excited because I have been wanting to do a race that involves some kind of costume or fun theme. I’m thinking maybe a green tutu and knee socks? We’ll see!

I originally wanted to the Runnin’ of the Green 4 Mile (Green Island, NY), but it was sold out by the time I decided.

KiltRun2012Source

Maybe I should copy this woman’s costume?

stpatsSource

I already registered for a couple of other races so far. They aren’t costumed or themed races, but I’m looking forward to them.

I’ll be running the Freihofer’s Run For Women 5K in June. It’s a really popular race in this area and actually features many national and international professional runners among us amateurs.

I signed up for the Boilermaker 15K, which I wanted to do last year but missed out on the registration deadline. This year I was on top of it and luckily made the cut before it sold out (within 66 hours!). This is another popular race that attracts a lot of attention. It was named the “most competitive 15K in the world” by the Analytical distance runner and Bill Rodgers ran it and won in 1983. I’m just shooting for a decent finish.

Registration for the Mohawk Hudson River Half Marathon doesn’t begin until March, so I am patiently waiting to sign up to do this for the second time.

I am still trying to settle on another half marathon to do, maybe in early Summer. I can’t decide!

More races TBD!

4 Responses to “Adding to the 2013 Race Calendar”

  1. Jenny January 31, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    I have never dressed up for a fun run before! But I see ton’s people that do! It looks so fun!
    If I was not trying to beat my record this year for our 10km St. Paddys day run, I probably would be trying to piece together a silly outfit now! But…I can’t have a shamrock headband on while trying to be serious! lol

    • Nikki February 1, 2013 at 10:59 am #

      You can totally be serious with a shamrock headband. Do it!

      • Jenny February 1, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

        >.> well see!

  2. Diana February 1, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    I did an 8K in December where people dressed up – it was a ton of fun. There was also a guy playing a tuba while he ran! Fun stuff. =)

Leave a Reply

