Nothing like a good run to start the day

30 Jan

In line with the weird weather lately, this morning was unseasonably warm. That means I got to get myself out of bed at before sunrise and hit the road! Honestly, I kind of dawdled and didn’t start up my Garmin 110 until 6:00 AM. I was super tired so I took it nice and easy.

3.17 miles | 30:00 total time | 9:28 avg pace

Toward the end of the run, one of my Knuckle Lights started flickering and stopped working. I hope it can be fixed, I rely on these things for my runs in the dark!

20130130-134821.jpg

I topped the day’s workout with some strength training and core work (5:00 arms, 5:00 abs).

And then I soared through the day on a pretty nice runner’s high! It’s a good thing, too, because I had a very busy day.

Yesterday I heard an ad on the radio for Dunkin’ Donuts announcing the new Red Velvet Latte. (How did they get inside my head?!) As soon as I heard that, I made it my goal to get one this morning.

20130130-134829.jpgDelicious goal: accomplished!

During my last trip to Trader Joe’s, I grabbed some of their Greek yogurt to try out. So far, they have outdone Chobani and Yoplait in the flavor department. I think vanilla bean is my favorite. The blueberry one is for tomorrow.

20130130-200529.jpg

I am happy to report that I have been doing well on my goal of being more mindful of what I’m eating and making healthier choices. I’ve  been paying attention to how much food I’m eating daily as well as the quality, because I have a serious sweets and snacks habit. (Hence the 7ish pounds I gained during that time off for the MFI). Part of this goal has been for Mark and I to get groceries more regularly and plan our meals to avoid eating a lot of fast food and pasta. It’s really been working and I know I’m getting leaner and I feel a lot better. [I may have snuck a peek at the scale, shhh.]

Tonight’s dinner was pretty awesome:

20130130-200126.jpg

Lightly breaded and broiled wild caught salmon, quinoa/brown rice blend with cilantro seasoning (Seeds of Change brand), and broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots. It was seriously good.

And every good running day should end with a little dessert, right?

20130125-200044.jpg

3 Responses to “Nothing like a good run to start the day”

  1. Jade January 30, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

    Red velvet latte sounds awesome! Mmm! Yay for a good run too, sounds like a good day 🙂

  2. Amanda January 31, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    I keep forgetting to get those TJ’s ice cream sandwiches! I want them so bad!

    • Nikki January 31, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

      You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

