What in the world is ‘freezing drizzle’?

29 Jan

Basically, it means that everything is slushy and slippery. I looked out my window at 5:21 AM this morning and visions of slipping and breaking myself while running immediately came to mind. Spending more time nursing an injury is not in my future plans, so I used my better judgment and opted for a change in routine. Even though it’s a late work night for me (8:00 PM), I committed to doing a run when I left the office.

Well, the weather forecast was not so good for that time of night either. So…I resigned myself to one simple fact. If I was going to run today…

I had to run…on…the…dreadmill! (cue old horror movie scream)

woman-screaming(B the W: How is a waist that tiny humanly possible?)

I try to do everything I can to avoid running on the treadmill because I find it very dull. But from time to time, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do and the occasional ‘mill workout is acceptable. (Plus, we are still paying for a gym membership, so going once every few months is cost effective, right?)

Since it was a looooong day at the office (and I’ve only worked myself back up to 4 miles so far), I planned to keep it short so I could get home and into my fleece and flannel pajamas ASAP.

WELL, short it was!

I checked in after 8:30 PM and as soon as I started undressing, I realized I had no running pants. I checked my bag 1,276 times hoping that fact would change. I even thought about taking Mark’s suggestion…..

20130129-212523.jpg

But I figured it was really just a sign that a run was not going to happen today. Womp womp.

So, I did the “walk of shame” back out the front door of the gym and headed home straight into my pajamas.

The Runiverse was simply not on my side today. But tomorrow’s a whole new game, right? 😉

5 Responses to “What in the world is ‘freezing drizzle’?”

  1. Jenny January 30, 2013 at 12:09 am #

    Freezing Drizzle, I thought that was the same as freezing rain! Lol.
    I actually forgot my running pants too when I went to go for my run on my lunch break . They were all the way at the other end of the school (too lazy to go back)…so I ran in my jeans! Because it was -39 I put on my ski pants over them anyway! But…Jeans are SO not your friend if running!
    Crap happens, I am the queen of forgetting stuff!!!…One time I forgot a shoe (yes one shoe) when I went to the gym. Luckily they had just opened a Running Room there…so I actually bought a brand new pair of shoes instead of going back home…now that is shameful!

    • Nikki January 30, 2013 at 8:55 am #

      Yeah – it is freezing rain LOL. The title of the post was something a radio dj had said on my drive to work and I thought it was silly.

      I can’t believe you ran in jeans! Kudos to you for being out there in such extreme weather, I have to say I’m not as hardcore as you! 😉

      • Jenny January 31, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

        Desperate times call for desperate measures!
        Hey, I can’t be too hardcore…because I am SOOOOO relieved this challenge is over! 😉

  2. Jade January 30, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    lol @ Mark’s suggestion! I hope you get your run in today 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ‘milling it without socks « run+breathe+be - February 5, 2013

    […] Last time I forgot pants. This time it was socks. If I was a Freudian (and I’m not), I would say my subconscious was to blame due to an underlying obvious hatred for treadmill running. Well, take THAT subconscious, because I ran anyway! (Ew?) […]

Leave a Reply

