Loving life

25 Jan

The past couple of days have been particularly frigid, so I wasn’t able to get out for a run Wednesday or Thursday due to sub-zero temps (frozen eyeballs and mucus are a dealbreaker for me). As it was, I had to wait until late morning for it to be warm enough to head out for a run.

I got to spend the morning snuggling with Ellie while catching up on last night’s The Vampire Diaries.

20130125-195758.jpg

I also had to text Mark to brag about it, because when we’re both home she usually chooses his lap over mine:

20130125-211108.jpg

This is what married people text about when they don’t have kids yet…

I finally headed out for my run around 11:30 AM, once the temperature was in single digits (F). The highlight of the run was a man shouting, “Love your dedication!” from his porch about the same time I started regretting not wearing that second layer of pants.

3.3 miles | 29: 16 total time | 8:52 avg pace*

After getting inside and thawing my legs out, a did a 5:00 arms circuit and a 3:00 abs workout using my new lolo apps.

*This run was in honor of We Shall Have Pie. Jenny was stuck in a conference all day and really wanted to run instead.

For dinner, I made the executive decision that TJ’s flatbread pizza, salad, and sparkling wine would be on tonight’s menu (Oh darn, guess I have to go to Trader Joe’s…). We enjoyed our fancy little meal with a side of this week’s New Girl.

20130125-195814.jpg

Yeah, that’s right, we ate pizza on our wedding china

I also picked up these little guys for dessert:

20130125-200044.jpg

Only 90 calories in a tiny delicious sandwich!

Wondering what I was up to on the days I wasn’t able to run? I knew you would be, so I took pictures.

Mark was feeling really creative Tuesday night so he whipped up an impromptu meal of butternut squash, tomatoes, orange peppers, chicken breast, whole wheat couscous, and some savory spices.

20130125-195714.jpg

20130125-195721.jpg

YUM!

He’s so excited about his creation, he is working on new ways to make it even better. Can’t wait for the chorizo version!

I spent nearly every night wearing the hot pink Eddie Bauer fleece that my mom generously bought me last weekend. (SERIOUSLY so cozy!)

20130125-195731.jpg

I even wore it with flannel PJ pants and fuzzy socks while doing an arms workout.ย The kitties were very interested and confused by the lady’s voice coming out of my iPhone.

20130125-195739.jpg

They tried to attack it

It may not be an exciting life, but I love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Responses to “Loving life”

  1. Jade January 26, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    I am always so proud when my dog sits on my lap instead of my husband’s! And i always have to make a big deal out of it and say how she loves me more ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Jenny January 26, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    You rock!!!
    When I finally got home the first thing I did was go for a 4km run to get rid of the agitated thoughts from our useless conference!
    You like New Girl too?? That is one of the only shows we really try and keep up on I this house:)

    • Nikki January 26, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      Glad you got to get in a run after the conference!

      We LOVE New Girl! It’s one of our favorites. It’s definitely in my top 4. I actually had a dream last night that Schmidt was my friend.

      • Jenny January 26, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

        Oh no! …he is the worst! hahha
        I would like Winston as a friend! He seems to be the more level headed one lol.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What in the world is ‘freezing drizzle’? « run+breathe+be - January 29, 2013

    […] myself back up to 4 miles so far), I planned to keep it short so I could get home and into my fleece and flannel pajamas […]

Leave a Reply

