This (almost) makes me want to run a marathon.

23 Jan

When I got home tonight, Mark played this video for me (because he loves me and he knows how much I love running). It’s a clip from the PBS documentary Makers: Women Who Make America. It showcases stories of women who have done awesome things. It’s scheduled to air on February 26, 2013 at 8:00 PM.

Here’s the description of the clip:

“Kathrine Switzer on the prejudices women athletes faced, her historic Boston Marathon run, and the doors it opened for other women athletes. Switzer’s ongoing campaign to help women around the globe empower themselves through the simple act of running made her a 2011 Inductee into the National Women’s Hall of Fame.”

– PBS.org

How can you not feel inspired to run 26.2???

Marathon or not, on your next run think of Kathrine Switzer’s courageous move and feel empowered to just keep going.

3 Responses to “This (almost) makes me want to run a marathon.”

  1. Amanda January 24, 2013 at 11:01 am #

    Have you ever watched Spirit of the Marathon? You can watch it for free on Hulu. It makes me want to run a marathon soooo bad. I always watch it when I’m lacking motivation to run. It works every time! And I cry at the end every time…

    • Nikki January 25, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

      I haven’t! But I think I’m going to put it on my Hulu lineup now. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. runstudysucceed January 27, 2013 at 12:14 am #

    Reblogged this on RunStudySUCCEED and commented:
    Thank you, This was the best motivation for the official start of my half marathon training that starts tomorrow. I can’t run a marathon yet, but I will get there. Few pounds to shed first. It’s time to run!

Leave a Reply

