It’s about time I went to Trader Joe’s

20 Jan

We have recently been blessed with a Trader Joe’s in the area. By recently, I mean it’s been here a few months and I haven’t stopped in yet. My mom and I went on a lunch and shopping date yesterday, so I decided it would be a good opportunity to check it out.

TJs

In short: I’m in love. There are so many amazing things inside this store! Even my mom (who is extremely picky) kept putting things in the basket to try. I will be making TJ’s a regular part of my shopping regimen. We still had a lot of groceries at home, so I only bought a few select items to try. (Sorry I didn’t get close ups of all of them…)

TJs lootWhoever created the Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter is a GENIUS! I don’t know how they found their way into my cookie loving brain, but they succeeded. And it is magical. I was also really impressed with their variety and all the great ready-made meals. I’m kicking myself now for not buying at least one to try. Oh well, guess I have to go back!

After TJ’s, Mom and I stopped at Fleet Feet so I could use my gift card from Christmas. They only had ONE mint chocolate GU left and no pink lemonade nuun! Sad face. I ended up with tropical and tri-berry nuun. I also got a pair of SmartWool socks with a longer length cuff to wear under my winter running tights. And they were on sale!

FF loot

I went to a casual wine and game night at a friend’s house Saturday night. I brought the basil pesto flatbread pizza and the French Berry sparking lemonade from TJ’s. Both delicious! We had a lot of yummy treats. (Don’t be fooled by this photo, I had wayyyy more than one cookie.) I also gave the host the Dukkah nut and spice blend as a gift. [She tried it today with olive oil and bread and loved it!]

IMG_1434

And now on to Sunday! This morning I met up with a friend for a run. It wasn’t too cold, but there were some pretty serious wind gusts. I ran the .6 miles to her house and then we headed out through the neighborhood. We did a jog/walk combination and kept a nice, easy conversational pace. It was nice to have a running buddy for once! (Sorry, no pictures!)

3.61 miles | 41:58 total time | 11:39 avg. pace

After running back home, I decided it would be a good day to start working my arms. I downloaded the lolo Easy Arms app  and did a 5:00 circuit. IMG_1437

IMG_1436So far, I’m liking this app. It’s easy to follow and has a lot of variety, so you aren’t doing the same exercises every time. I think I’ll keep it!

I hope everyone else had a great weekend!

2 Responses to “It’s about time I went to Trader Joe’s”

  1. Jade January 20, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    I want a TJ’s near me. We had one where we lived this summer and I miss it! Smartwool socks are my favorite favorite thing for winter running.

  2. slowgirlfastdog January 20, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

    I love TJ’s too. And that Crunchy Cookie Butter is amazing. I brought it home and thought I would have to hide it from my son but he didn’t care for it. SCORE!

Leave a Reply

