Boom Chicka Pop

11 Jan

I didn’t have any major pain or discomfort in my foot during the week, so this morning I geared up for run #2 back from injury! I popped my Spenco orthotic arch supports into my running shoes and headed out for a big 2 mile adventure.

20130111-163829.jpg(ooohhh…not my favorite close up, but whatevs) 

2.27 miles | 20:41 total time | 9:08 avg pace

The inserts take a little getting used to, but my feet felt supported and I didn’t have any pain at all. This makes me hopeful that I can increase how many times I run next week. I’m thinking at least 3 runs at about the same distance I did today. During the run I was really focused on how my body was feeling. I started out a bit too fast and had to slow myself a little to ensure I wasn’t pushing too much, but it seemed like my body recalled the miles I put in months ago. My lungs were like, “Heyyyy we’re a little out of shape, this is hard work.” And my legs were like, “We remember this! Let’s keep going!” I felt really great after this run and I’m planning on run #3 Sunday.

After a lovely lunch with some former coworkers, I stopped at Target for a few things and was craving a little snack. I stumbled upon Angie’s Boom Chicka Pop popcorn. They had two options to choose from: sea salt and lightly sweet.

20130111-163838.jpgAfter a lengthy deliberation, I chose the sea salt ones (seriously, just buy both…). Angie’s popcorn may have become my newest snack obsession. They’re all natural, gluten free, whole grain, GMO-free, delicious goodness and I’m pretty sure I’m hooked. I scoped out the website and there are so many delicious flavors to choose from! Salted caramel? Yes, please! Anyone else an Angie’s addict?

3 Responses to “Boom Chicka Pop”

  1. Alex January 11, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    Love your shoes! I’ve never had any of Angie’s food, but they sound delicious, especially the popcorn. Props to you for running outside; I’m a major wimp and stick to the treadmill in my basement 🙂

    • Nikki January 12, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      Thank you! I love running in winter and will do anything possible to avoid treadmill runs!

  2. Jade January 12, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    Hi! I am just coming back from an injury too! I have been out since October but I’m slowly coming back now. Hope you keep getting better and stronger! It’s tough, I know, but we can do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

