There’s a Gaiter in my Post!

9 Jan

First things first. I have this policy of not weighing myself regularly because it encourages too much focus on a number rather than overall fitness. I’ve always preferred to judge success based on changes in my body shape, how I feel, and other goals met. That said, I had a routine doctor’s appointment this morning and had to step on the dreaded scale. Dun dun DUNNN! My suspicions were correct…the eat-every-cookie-in-sight-even-though-you’re-not-running diet I was on has resulted in a little extra weight. Womp womp. Guess it’s a good thing I was given the green light to run again, eh?

Speaking of dieting food, I whipped up this “Italian Style” Spanish rice for dinner the other night. It doesn’t look like much in the photo, but it was a pretty tasty and relatively healthy dish

20130109-204257.jpgIt’s brown rice, Italian seasoned ground turkey, tomato sauce, orange and yellow peppers and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese on top. Yum!

In other news, I came home to a little package from Running Warehouse. How exciting! I knew it was coming, though, so let’s not get too worked up…
package.jpg

Inside the box: Buff multifunctional headwear and Spenco orthotic arch inserts. And they arrived with free 2 day shipping!20130109-204317.jpgI was looking for a neck gaiter to wear on the colder runs and the description on RunningWarehouse.com cited this Buff product as one that is meant for hot or cold weather. Wellllll…..this one is definitely NOT meant for cold weather. It’s super thin and more of a decoration. I probably should have done a little more research on it before choosing it, but there’s free return shipping so it’s only a minor inconvenience.

The Spenco orthotic inserts were among the top two or three options I had narrowed down based on some online research for alternatives to extraordinarily expensive custom ones. I ultimately chose to go the cheaper route because of articles like this. So I plan to try out a couple of non-custom orthotics to deal with my overpronation before spending a small fortune on custom foot levelers. I popped the Spenco inserts into my running shoes and immediately felt a difference. I wore them when we went out to grab dinner and I can honestly say I had no pain in my foot whatsoever…so I am hopeful that they might be a good match! We will see when I test them out on my next run this week.

While we were out, we stopped at EMS because they’re having a super sale on outdoor winter stuff and I was still looking for something that would actually keep my neck warm.  I found this simple SmartWool one just waiting for me to buy it:

20130109-204324.jpgAnd thanks to the super sale, it was 40% off! I LOVE SmartWool products and I’m pretty confident this is going to work perfectly. They have underpants too and I would be lying if I said I’m not considering buying them…

4 Responses to “There’s a Gaiter in my Post!”

  1. slowgirlfastdog January 9, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    I was on a diet similar to your “eat-every-cookie-in-sight-even-though-you’re-not-running diet” except mine was “eat-every-cookie-candy-pastry-and-bowl-of-ice-cream-in-sight-even-though-you’re-not-running diet” which started right after I sprained my ankle…right before Halloween. The good news? We’re running again! YAY!

    • Nikki January 10, 2013 at 9:12 am #

      Oh yes, I surely ate a lot of calorie-rich comfort foods and mostly things that aren’t hip and thigh friendly. But you are right, we can run now! YAY!

  2. Ellen@Superfeet January 10, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    Hi Nikki, Ellen here from Superfeet Worldwide. Let me know if you would like to try a pair of Superfeet. We’d love to get your feedback!

Leave a Reply

