Starting from Scratch

6 Jan

Since I’ve been cleared by the PT to start up again, I headed outside this afternoon for my first run in nearly 3 months (eww). Not only was I excited to get running, I also got to try out my new winter gear and Garmin 110 GPS watch.

As a warmup, I had my husband take a couple of photos to commemorate the occasion.

ontheroad

sassStaying warm by rocking the Saucony Kinvara NMD Jacket, Under Armour ColdGear Frosty compression tights, Champion C9 long sleeve 1/4 zip, SmartWool PhD running socks, 180s ear muffs, and Champion C9 running gloves

in action

After the photos, it was off for the run! Since I’ve been cautioned to start back up slowly, I ran one of the shorter loops I had mapped out around the neighborhood.

20130106-222404.jpg

1.79 miles | 16:50 total time | 9:26 pace

Yeah, that’s right! A whopping 1.79 miles. But it felt good to finally get out there. The air was crisp but not too cold and surprisingly my legs remembered what to do. I only have a little soreness but nothing outside of what I was told I might expect. It seems so strange to be starting from scratch when not too long ago I was averaging 20-25 miles per week. Either way, I’m happy to back!

3 Responses to “Starting from Scratch”

  1. rosariok November 18, 2014 at 4:58 am #

    How do those tights compare to the men’s coldgear tights for winter running?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Meditation: A Slow Start « run+breathe+be - January 7, 2013

    […] the spirit of yesterday’s Starting From Scratch run, I felt it would be a good time to focus on the value of starting over and starting slow. […]

  2. Re-stocking, Sunday stuff, and core training | run+breathe+be - February 24, 2013

    […] can already see some positive changes in my body since my return to running in early January, especially since I’ve added strength training circuits. […]

Leave a Reply

