PT: Round 3

5 Jan

Early Friday morning I headed off to Round 3 of physical therapy. I was able to report that over the past week I didn’t really experience any pain beyond a little stiffness. I did my stretches 3x/day and used the heating pad every night. I also did some research on different orthotic inserts and I’ve narrowed it down to two options from Spenco. I’ll probably order those this week.

20130105-102854.jpgHow stimulating!

We did the usually round of e-stim with heating pad, stretching, and massaging. The e-stim felt especially good today and the PT said my foot was healing nicely and loosening up. So…I tried a run! It was a slow jog at 12:00/mile pace but I went about 1.5 miles on the treadmill without discomfort. I felt like I could have done more, but didn’t want to push it.

The verdict: I was given the go-ahead to start running again! HALLELUJAH! I will have to build up slowly and cautiously, of course, but I CAN RUN! I will return to PT on an as needed basis if pain returns again.

I waited until this evening to post with the news so I could see how my foot felt the day after the trial run. And so far, it’s doing pretty well. Guess who’s going to get a start on that winter running tomorrow? As long as it’s not snowing too heavily, I will be out there! 😀

Leave a Reply

