Merry Christmas, You’re Overpronating!

26 Dec

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas! If you participated in a Santa Run or any holiday race, I hope you had as much fun as this guy did:

AUSTRALIA-CHRISTMAS-SANTASSource

I spent the majority of the weekend cleaning, baking cookies, and wrapping presents. And then I had a very busy and very enjoyable Christmas Eve and Christmas Day with my husband and family. It seemed like we were non-stop from Friday night through early this morning! It was very exciting to celebrate our first married Christmas.20121226-202611.jpg

Among the generous gifts I received were some of the things on my Running Wish List! I am so excited about the Garmin GPS watch (thank you, hubby!), Saucony Kinvara jacket, Under Armour cold gear tights, Smart Wool running socks, and gift cards to Fleet Feet and Running Warehouse. Mark got a pair of running pants from my parents, too (I wonder how they thought of that?), so I am very excited to try these things out when I can run again!

20121226-200107.jpgWe both took today off to rest and relax (mmm, sleep). The only time I left the house today was to go to my first PT treatment appointment this afternoon. After some stretching, massaging, and time with the E-stim machine and heating pad, I stepped on the digital scanner to check on the pronation of my feet.

20121226-200115.jpgMy feet are on the left, good feet are on the right. Turns out I have moderate pronation. That means my feet are not bearing weight properly, so I am going to be more likely to have repetitive stress injuries. According to the little chart in the PT office, custom orthotic inserts are ridiculously expensive “necessary” to correct the issue and reduce injury. If I don’t go the custom insert route, I can try out some not-so-custom types like Dr. Scholl’s and see how that goes or be really specific about the type of shoe I buy. However, I am told that neither of those options are great long term solutions and if I want to get back to my running routine and the weekly mileage I want to hit, the custom inserts are going to be the best solution. Unless I want to have recurring injuries, of course. I am going to have to think on that (and sell a kidney, maybe?). On the bright side, after a couple of PT treatments we are going to try out a little running. I CAN’T WAIT!

2 Responses to “Merry Christmas, You’re Overpronating!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nothing like a good run to start the day « run+breathe+be - January 30, 2013

    […] a serious sweets and snacks habit. (Hence the 7ish pounds I gained during that time off for the MFI). Part of this goal has been for Mark and I to get groceries more regularly and plan our meals to […]

  2. Race Recap: Uncle Marty’s Kilt Run 5K | run+breathe+be - March 18, 2013

    […] this was my first 5K since healing my foot injury, my main goal was to have fun. I wasn’t too concerned about time other than figuring […]

Leave a Reply

