Running Wish List

7 Dec

In the spirit of the holiday season (Chrismahanukwanzakah?), I thought I’d put together a list of a few of the things that I feel would enhance my running experience. Let’s be real: I’ve had a lot of time to dream about running since I’ve been out of commission for the past several weeks. I also have it on good authority that I’m on the Nice List this year…sooo… 😉

1. The Feed Zone Cookbook: Fast and Flavorful Food for Athletes (at Amazon)

Feed Zone

For a while I have been saying I want to give my diet a bit of an overhaul and make it more runner (and health) friendly. I did a little bit of research and found this cookbook to be highly recommended for its variety, simplicity, nutritiousness, and usefulness for people with active lifestyles.

2. Garmin GPS Watch (Forerunner 210, 110, 0r 10)

Garmin F 210

I love using my mapmyrun app on my iPhone for training or fun runs, but when it comes to races it seems kind of bulky and awkward to have a phone strapped to my arm. I typically race without it. I would love a GPS watch and I like the features of the Garmin Forerunner 210 because it’s got all sorts of cool stuff, like the Garmin Connect online community and stats. However, I’m not partial to having all of the extra features so I would be happy with a watch that can just tell me time, distance, pace, and splits.

3. Mizuno Wave Rider 16 in Blue/Electric

Mizuno WR16

I like the pair of Saucony Mirage II that I bought recently but I’ll be honest, I still want another pair of Mizuno Wave Riders. They’re a great shoe for neutral/slight underpronating runners like me and I liked how well they carried me through the miles. I’d like to get another pair and rotate them with my Sauconies and use them for races.

4. Under Armour Cold Gear Compression Tights (UnderArmour.com)

UA Cold Gear

I would rather run in the freezing cold than in heat and humidity. I usually just pile on layers and layers, but that can get bulky. A good pair (or two!) of thermal tights would make going out for winter runs much more comfortable.

5. Saucony Kinvara NMD Jacket (Saucony.com)

saucony kinvara jacke

This is on the list for the same reason as the thermal tights. Sweating through layers of non-wicking thermals and fleece is not really good for my health or my washing machine. (It gets tired.)

6. C9 by Champion Longsleeve 1/4 zip, Charcoal Heather with Hot Pink piping (Target)

C9 quarter zip

I have this in bright Rosa Coral already and I LOVE it. I have not been able to use it a lot yet, but I have worn it for a jog, walks, errands, etc. It is warm, comfy, and does not ride up. So now I want another one! I am actually impressed with the C9 line, they are pretty well-made, technical, and reasonably priced. Great for a runner on a budget like me.

7. Moji 360 Massage Kit (at Running Warehouse)

Moji

Running often leads to sore muscles especially when training intensifies and distances get longer. I’d love one of these kits to make it easier on my husband when I beg him to massage my calves. Or, a plain old foam roller will do I guess…

8. PRO Compression Marathon socks, purple (PROCompression.com)

PRO compression

My calves get pretty sore with running, so some compression socks for the long runs and recovery would definitely help with that. A bright and snazzy color is a plus!

9. Running skirt

At first I wasn’t really into the whole running skirt trend, but after seeing others with them and checking out the different colors and patterns, I started to think they are kind of fun. I’m also not a really big fan of how my thighs look in shorts (yay for mid-race photos…) so I think this could be a good solution for warm weather. I haven’t decided on a specific one yet, but I will be on the lookout.

10. GU Energy Gel, mint chocolate (GUenergy.com)

GU

My favorite energy gel for long runs. It’s like a Thin Mint cookie without the guilt….mmmm. If there’s anything I love more than running, it’s chocolate and cookies. It would make a great stocking stuffer!

What’s on your Running Wish List?

3 Responses to “Running Wish List”

  1. Mary December 7, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    I love so many things on your list! I have some similar ones too, here’s my running wishlist: http://runningintransit.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/christmas-running-wish-list/

  2. Tina December 9, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    Those Mizuno Wave Riders are B..e..a..utiful! I know what’s going on my list this year 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Merry Christmas, You’re Pronating! « run+breathe+be - December 26, 2012

    […] the generous gifts I received were some of the things on my Running Wish List! I am so excited about the Garmin GPS watch (thank you, hubby!), Saucony Kinvara jacket, Under […]

Leave a Reply

