Monday Meditation: Relief and Sanctuary

3 Dec

Such a sleepy Monday today! Thanks to following the recommendations of friends, the Husbo and I started watching the Walking Dead on Friday and decided to spend a big chunk of the weekend in a marathon of episodes. We’re already on episode 8 of season 2 (and still somehow the laundry and dishes still got done?!) Naturally, I spent most of last night tossing and turning with visions of sugar plums zombies in my head. This morning I had the thought – even if I was able to run right now, I would be too afraid to be alone in the dark for fear of zombie attack that I would stay indoors anyway. I guess everything’s working out then?

I realize my post yesterday was a little mopey. I won’t apologize for it though, as that is how I’ve been feeling lately with my serious lack of running capability. But today is a new day and since it’s Monday, I found something to meditate on and share with you.

When we see or hear about elite and professional runners competing, we can often elevate them and idealize their experience. Surely, they must have some kind of super powers to be able to achieve success that many of us amateurs could merely dream about, right? Well, if we take a step back and remember that even professional athletes are humans too, we would see that they also experience their fair share of struggles. Olympian Kara Goucher is one of those athletes. She has dealt with injuries, upsets, and life transitions, and this is what she has to say about it:

‎”It hasn’t always been smooth sailing. There have been many times when I have struggled in my running. I’ve dealt with injuries. I’ve wilted under pressure to perform. But through it all, running has always been a relief and a sanctuary—something that makes me feel good, both physically and mentally. Which is why I want to help other people fall in love with running. For me it’s not so much about the health benefits. Those are great, but I believe that the best thing about running is the joy it brings to life.”

– Kara Goucher

I love how she refers to running as her “relief and sanctuary,” as I truly agree with this. I also appreciate that she wants others to fall in love with it as she has – it can be so fulfilling to help others discover this simple joy. A friend of mine recently asked me for advice on increasing distance and changing personal goals and I can honestly say it was great to see someone else getting excited about running. Not to mention it was nice to think someone else felt I was a knowledgeable and trustworthy source of information! For me, no amount of injuries, adjustments, or hiatuses can overshadow what running brings to my life. I still find relief and sanctuary in running, even if it is through conversation, inspirational quotes, magazine articles, volunteering at races, and making gear wish lists – it continues to be there for me.

Leave a Reply

