Stir Crazy

9 Nov

Taking it easy to give my foot proper rest to heal over the past few weeks has been paying off. The Mysterious Foot Injury appears to be on the mend! It hurts less and less as the days go by and I’m not limping around anymore. YAY! Even though I found some alternative exercises that wouldn’t put unnecessary pressure on my foot, my recovery has primarily consisted of snuggling with my cats on the couch while I prop my foot up with ice a frozen water bottle strapped to it. Needless to say, this has made me a little, um, stir crazy.

Don’t get me wrong, my cats are adorable. And they are hardcore snugglers.

20121109-225659.jpg

(Adele and Ellie)

But I need to run.

So after catching up on a few of this week’s TV shows, milling about the house, and running out of random stuff to look up online, I decided to try a short walk to see how it felt. Instead of driving to take care of a couple of errands, I grabbed the outgoing mail and a bank deposit and headed toward town. And the results…….I had minimal discomfort in my foot, no limping, and no noticeable increase in pain at rest. It felt SO good to get my legs moving and my soles on the pavement!

2.18 miles | 42:36 total time | 19:30 avg pace

(I kept my mapmyrun app going as I hit up the post office and bank, so it looks like I walked a bit slower than I really did.)

This gives me some hope that I can work my way back up to running again soon. There are a lot of fun winter races I have been looking forward to, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I can actually sign up for some!

In other news: one of the things I LOVE LOVE LOVE about Fall is pumpkin flavored food. I was really craving this Spiced Pumpkin Bisque that Price Chopper has this season. So, naturally, I dragged the hubs (in protest) with me to the grocery store as soon as he got home from work. (Seriously, he even made me drive. That never happens.)

Mmmm. Pumpkinny.

20121109-192405.jpg

While we were at the store, we stumbled upon a BOGO sale on Thomas’ Pumpkin Spice English Muffins. We stocked up…

20121109-192349.jpgom nom nom

These are delicious with peanut butter. I plan on buying as many as I possibly can and freezing them so I can enjoy them all year long. Not even joking. 

This Sunday I will be volunteering at a local race for the first time, so check back for a post on that experience!

Leave a Reply

