Seeking Alternatives

30 Oct

My first thoughts for the day go to all of those in the path of Hurricane Sandy who are now dealing with the devastating aftermath. There is certainly a sense of relief in my area, which received far less damage than predicted. I cannot imagine losing my home or having to pick up the pieces as many people are doing right now. My heart is with friends, family, and all others affected by this disaster.

Since all of my individual clients rescheduled their appointments for today in anticipation of the storm, I had most of the day off. After consulting with some experts (ahem, the Internet) on what exercises I could still do with a probable stress fracture in my foot, I decided to try some low impact alternatives to running. I ate a Thomas’ pumpkin spice English muffin with peanut butter (sooo good!) and headed to the gym.

First, I watched the coverage on the hurricane while peddling on the stationary bike. Overall, this was a good way to workout without putting much pressure on my foot and aggravating the Mysterious Foot Injury. However, I had to stop after half an hour because it was just too uncomfortable on my backside. I also really dislike using cardio machines. Boring.

20121030-171556.jpg

31:32 total time | 7.15 miles | 13.6 mph speed

Then I grabbed a stability ball and did some basic upper arm exercises while leaning on it. Shoulder press, bicep curls, triceps, arm raises, chest press. All low weight with high reps. I didn’t bring my photographer with me, so there aren’t any awkward cool pictures of me actually doing these. I topped it off with a brief ab workout.

20121030-171610.jpg

For years I’ve stuck to a personal policy of not weighing myself regularly. Seriously, the only time I weigh myself is at the doctor’s office. This is to avoid being overly self-critical about my body and obsessing over a number. I prefer to judge my progress by other measures – e.g., hitting a target pace or distance, calories burned, seeing visible changes in my body. Most importantly, I judge my progress by how I feel. And despite limited mileage over the past three weeks, I feel slimmer and lighter. This might have something to do with sticking to my goal of eating less sugary junk…. Whatever it is, it feels good!

Post-workout photo shoot, moments before the power went out:

20121030-171617.jpg

Hurricane Sandy: Help Those in Need (American Red Cross)

One Response to “Seeking Alternatives”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stir Crazy « run+breathe+be - November 9, 2012

    […] and less as the days go by and I’m not limping around anymore. YAY! Even though I found some alternative exercises that wouldn’t put unnecessary pressure on my foot, my recovery has primarily […]

Leave a Reply

